Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

All T5 owners and T6 Buyers... Options

greenp

greenp

VIP Member
Vehicle
T6 Ocean 150
Hi Everyone
I'm totally new to VW Transporter's / California's but looking to buy a new California Ocean... My question to existing owners of the T5 and people selecting options for a new T6 California, what options do people who have lived with this vehicle recommend... I know this is a personal choice but I would be interested in your thoughts and experiences.
Thanks Paul

I wouldn't recommend the Alcantara.

Mine now has seat covers and the money would have been better spent going for a leather re-trim which I'm now considering

I wouldn't recommend the Alcantara.

Mine now has seat covers and the money would have been better spent going for a leather re-trim which I'm now considering

We're looking at going with the Alcantara... any reason you'd not recommend it? Txs.

Don't bother with Alcantara, go for a retrim, we did not get on with it at all

Don't bother with Alcantara, go for a retrim, we did not get on with it at all

But why? Is it a really bad leather, did it wear badly etc?

Ahh, okay, so Alcantara is not real leather. The brochure is a bit misleading as it says Alcantara Leather!

I really like the Alcantara - it's really durable, looks good, feels nice in winter and summer. However it's expensive and as I've put seat covers on (dogs!) I don't think I will have it on my T6.
I will definitely have the sliding electric door, DSG, 4-motion; and definitely won't have wifi.
One option I'm not sure about are bi-xenon headlights. They are very expensive and sometimes too bright (reflections from large road signs, flashing from dazzled drivers).

I've just ordered an Ocean 204 DSG with:

Front & Rear Parking - less bumps
Removable towbar - for a bike rack, i personally think this is better for getting access to the tailgate area
17" running gear - more stopping power