Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Awnings and Groundsheets

M

Michelle 24/7

VIP Member
Vehicle
T6.1 Ocean 204 4 motion
I am new to owning a campervan having recently purchased a California Ocean 6.1. I have only been away twice for two nights on each occasion as trial adventures which I am pleased to say I survived! I have concluded that I probably need an awning for more living space if I were to stay for more than two nights in one place and to store things in - especially wet clothes and boots and, for sites without toilets, a porta potti.
I need an awning that a 5' 4" woman is able to put up and pack away on her own, ideally with a subdivision for the loo.
My research suggests that an air driveaway awning made from polycotton is probably the best option, even if more expensive. However, I can't work out what size awning would fit on a pitch (with tunnel they appear to be 3.8m wide) and whether I would be able to use it if it has a sewn in groundsheet because there appear to be rules about this on some sites although this isn't always clear. I don't want to make an expensive mistake, so any guidance would be gratefully received.

We tried a couple of Vango Awnings - firstly a Kela (kindly donated by @Amarillo from his round europe adventure) and then we bought a Galli III. they were both good if that’s what you want. Well made etc etc.

However, over the 4 1/2 yrs of van ownership we have come to find that it’s just a hell of a lot easier packing really light. Sleep upstairs, use the downstairs as a living area. Put excess children into small popup tents instead of using downstairs as sleeping area. Minimise stuff. Minimise Faff. The awnings take up a lot of boot space and were such a faff to put up and down……