Best VW California Dedicated Forum by Miles :)

  1. Become a VIP Forum Member
    Full Forum Access | Now Over 40 Partner Discounts | Extra Forum Features

    Dismiss Notice

Code to change dash board from German to UK

Discussion in 'T4 California Technical' started by Brian F, Dec 6, 2017.

  1. Brian F
    Offline

    Brian F

    9
    6
    3
    Location:
    Bridport
    Transmission:
    Manual
    Vehicle:
    T4 PopTop
    Year:
    2003
    Hi I am not sure if this has been covered before. Can anyone help with providing the code for resetting the dash board display from German to English. My mechanic says he can do it if the codes and pathway is supplied. I'm not technical so I may have not used the correct wording - any advice would be a help. Also can the speedo be reset to MPH or is there a sticker that can be put over the speedo.

    Thanks Brian
     
  2. Jay586
    Offline

    Jay586

    345
    48
    29
    Location:
    North Wales
    Transmission:
    Manual
    Vehicle:
    N/A
    Can you go into the settings & change the language?

    I made mine go Slovenian accidentally whilst fiddling with the MFSW, was driving at the time so unhelpful.

    The mph thing was discussed recently & you need Oz settings but that was with using Carista?
     
  3. mrcheesbrough
    Offline

    mrcheesbrough

    335
    25
    29
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Transmission:
    Manual
    Vehicle:
    T4 PopTop
    Year:
    2001
    Is this information for a T4 that you’re looking for?


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
  4. Brian F
    Offline

    Brian F

    9
    6
    3
    Location:
    Bridport
    Transmission:
    Manual
    Vehicle:
    T4 PopTop
    Year:
    2003
    Thats great thanks for your help. I now have a California User guide UK translation so hopefully I can work it out.
     
  5. mrcheesbrough
    Offline

    mrcheesbrough

    335
    25
    29
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Transmission:
    Manual
    Vehicle:
    T4 PopTop
    Year:
    2001
    I think this is in the wrong part of the forum. You’re referring to a T5?


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
  6. Brian F
    Offline

    Brian F

    9
    6
    3
    Location:
    Bridport
    Transmission:
    Manual
    Vehicle:
    T4 PopTop
    Year:
    2003
     
  7. Brian F
    Offline

    Brian F

    9
    6
    3
    Location:
    Bridport
    Transmission:
    Manual
    Vehicle:
    T4 PopTop
    Year:
    2003
    I am referring to a T4 am I in the wrong area.
     
  8. mrcheesbrough
    Offline

    mrcheesbrough

    335
    25
    29
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Transmission:
    Manual
    Vehicle:
    T4 PopTop
    Year:
    2001
    No. Just no reference to what vehicle you have other than where you posted. A lot of T5 queries end up in the T4 technical.

    Anyway... I don’t think you can change the units on your dashboard without a bit of reprogramming. What age is your T4?


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
  9. Jay586
    Offline

    Jay586

    345
    48
    29
    Location:
    North Wales
    Transmission:
    Manual
    Vehicle:
    N/A
    Sorry, I didn't notice it was the T4 section...
     
  10. mrcheesbrough
    Offline

    mrcheesbrough

    335
    25
    29
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Transmission:
    Manual
    Vehicle:
    T4 PopTop
    Year:
    2001



    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
  11. sidepod
    Offline

    sidepod Top Poster VIP Member

    2,450
    589
    121
    Vehicle:
    T4 PopTop
    I can’t quite think what wording there is? It’s all numerical stuff is it not?
    Av speed/fuel consumption etc?

    Am I missing something?
     
  12. sidepod
    Offline

    sidepod Top Poster VIP Member

    2,450
    589
    121
    Vehicle:
    T4 PopTop
    Again, speedo? Why bother?
     
  13. mrcheesbrough
    Offline

    mrcheesbrough

    335
    25
    29
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Transmission:
    Manual
    Vehicle:
    T4 PopTop
    Year:
    2001
    Personal preference. Not all of us have embraced the numerical future that is metric. I personally straddle the two worlds - miles for cars, km for cycling and walking (it sounds further to say I rode 100km than 62miles). Have you MFD on your dash?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  14. sidepod
    Offline

    sidepod Top Poster VIP Member

    2,450
    589
    121
    Vehicle:
    T4 PopTop
    I have the MFD yes but it’s always on “Time” plus my eyesight isn’t good enough at the range to read it. :upsidedown
     
  15. mrcheesbrough
    Offline

    mrcheesbrough

    335
    25
    29
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Transmission:
    Manual
    Vehicle:
    T4 PopTop
    Year:
    2001
    To be honest that’s probably no bad thing. I’m not sure I’d like a constant update on how heavy my right foot is being.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
  16. sidepod
    Offline

    sidepod Top Poster VIP Member

    2,450
    589
    121
    Vehicle:
    T4 PopTop
    As long as I’m vaguely aware of a dash somewhere in the middle distance I’m good.
     
  17. Brian F
    Offline

    Brian F

    9
    6
    3
    Location:
    Bridport
    Transmission:
    Manual
    Vehicle:
    T4 PopTop
    Year:
    2003
    Its a 2003
     
  18. mrcheesbrough
    Offline

    mrcheesbrough

    335
    25
    29
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Transmission:
    Manual
    Vehicle:
    T4 PopTop
    Year:
    2001
    Do you know what software your mechanic is planning to use? Most of the information I’ve found on the internet regarding reprogramming the instrument cluster refers to the process using VCDS. It seems pretty simple as all that needs to happen is a change of country code from what I assume will be Germany or EU to GB. The physical aspect of changing the units on your speedo will require the removal, of your clocks to either place an overlay with MPH as the main scale or if you really wanted to go to town you could probably swap the clock for a UK spec caravelle from a similar era. You’d probably then need to tell the odometer the correct mileage using VCDS (or equivalent software). Something to bare in mind though if you did this is you can only increase the mileage from what the clock currently displays.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
  19. Brian F
    Offline

    Brian F

    9
    6
    3
    Location:
    Bridport
    Transmission:
    Manual
    Vehicle:
    T4 PopTop
    Year:
    2003
    Thanks
    Thanks I hope this should be enough to change the functions.
     
  20. mrcheesbrough
    Offline

    mrcheesbrough

    335
    25
    29
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Transmission:
    Manual
    Vehicle:
    T4 PopTop
    Year:
    2001
    I’m quite lucky as all this had been done by the original importer. If I get chance I’ll have a look at ours this weekend with my freeware version of VCDS to see the coding. If I can shed any more detail on things I’ll post it for you here.


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     

Share This Page

The VW California Club is run by Unique Forums Limited we are an independent enthusiast website and we are in no way related to any of the Volkswagen group of companies. Any comments made on this website are the views of the respective poster, and in no way represent the views of the VW California Club Administration or VAG