Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

DSG Gearbox manoeuvring uphill & going downhill

audio2

audio2

Vehicle
T6 Ocean 204
I am new to a DSG gearbox so would welcome some advice. When trying to get into a car park space which is slightly uphill the Ocean seems remarkably reluctant to start. It wont creep like previous automatics, opening the throttle slightly does not move it forward, a bit more throttle nothing, more throttle & it suddenly goes too quickly for manoeuvring in a car park . Is this lack of technique on my part, a design fault of the dsg gearbox or a problem to be sorted by the dealer?

Also I have noted that when going down hill, if I brake quite gently, so just before a bend it changes down to 4th or third. When you take your foot off the break it seems reluctant to change up again, so you can get engine breaking when I would normal let gravity increase the speed.

I have previously driven various automatics & manuals, but am not sure what to expect with a DSG gearbox. Most of the time it seems to work well.

Come to think of it your "issue" is the same as my observation. Car park manoeuvring in my case reversing up to a wall and a line of trees slightly uphill resulted in a bent bike rack as a result of sudden acceleration! Fortunately the tailgate was fine but the tie wraps holding the bike rack together have now become a permanent feature (well I do replace them from time to time).

Your van's gearbox has rollback prevention, i.e.an automatic hill start system.

When maneuvering up a slight incline, this will come into play and you will need to squeeze the accelerator a little more than expected to overcome this facility. It is an equal pain trying to get up leveling ramps gently.

There is nothing wrong with the gearbox and a 'pita' of a facility if you are used to using your hand brake on hills. Unfortunately it can't be disabled as far as I can see.

Alan

Exactly why we got rid of the dsg and got a manual.