dspuk

dspuk

Dave
Top Poster
Lifetime VIP Member
Vehicle
T6.1 Ocean 204
Part 1.

After deciding to buy one of the @Roger Donoghue kits I thought it could be of benefit to any others with my specific spec to see how I did it. Everything is more or less in Rogers instructions, but I did find them a challenge to understand due to how they seem to have evolved over time with addendums etc. The Bed Bus video was also helpful, but not an Ocean so in fact a reasonable amount different. There are a LOT of images in this thread, 28 to be exact, but I have shrunk them to keep the page loading optimised. If anyone wants a larger size, LMK. For info I am an ex-Army mechanic and used to work in Nissan, so a reasonable knowledge of the topic. I was still a little bewildered at first but eventually realised there are just three steps:

1 - Install a MPPT charger.
2 - Put a panel on the roof and wire it to the MPPT charger.
3 - Put a cable on the battery and attach that to the MPPT charger.

Everything else in between is making it look neat.

Ok - After reading the instructions a dozen times and surveying the van, I decided to install from the battery first. It made sense to me to start at the bottom and work up. Tools I used for the job - 10mm and 13mm sockets, phillips screwdriver and electrical screwdriver. I also used loom tape to tidy and make neat and have ordered some helicopter tape to go under the curly cable. Less for protection and more to reduce friction. everything else you need is in Rogers jiffy.

Fiirst though I got everything out. There were some burrs on the holes for the panel caddy to decided to make them right first - deburred with a large drill bit (13mm).

1 - Burr Medium.jpeg
2 - Deburr Medium.jpeg

Then I laid it all out to have a look. Here we have the panel, MPPT charger and the two cables. Curly is from panel to MPPT, the straight with a red wire is battery to MPPT.

3 - Layout Medium.jpeg