Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Have you changed your lifestyle to enjoy the van more?

C

CaliKate

Guest User
I'm curious. Have you changed your lifestyle to enjoy the van more?

I've been running a business for the last 12 years and work has been pretty much the main focus of my life. It's been successful, yes. As in, I've survived, been able to buy a house and save for our future, etc. But I guess I just didn't see it happening – the gradual takeover and all-out stress. It just crept up.

My hubby also works for himself and has been a victim to working too hard and feeling stressed and burnt-out because of it. It's not easy. When you freelance, you always worry about when the next payment will come through. And you never want to let down any clients, just in case they decide to go elsewhere. The downsides of freelancing. It can be a treadmill.

Getting a VW California next month marks a new chapter in our lives. We've made quite a few changes to reduce our outgoings as much as possible. So we don't have to work as much and can relax. It also means we can go away for lots of short breaks more frequently. (Anything more than a week's break is difficult for us – clients would notice!) And, if we need to, we can take our laptops and work remotely. We're lucky that we can do that, I know.

But tell me, have any of you made major changes to enjoy the California lifestyle more? What did you do to make it happen?

We're the same. Both the Wife and I have our own businesses (Architecture & Recruitment). The California gives us more flexibility but hasn't really changed our lifestyles.

I'm working all this weekend including the BH. But will take some time off next weekend to compensate and recharge (once the current pressure is off). The Cali gives us options.

We're the same. Both the Wife and I have our own businesses (Architecture & Recruitment). The California gives us more flexibility but hasn't really changed our lifestyles.