Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Newbee need advice buying first California Westfalia

qyou

qyou

Vehicle
T4 PopTop
Hi everyone, I'm new to the T4 club and hope someone could help me with a Westy I've had my eye on in Cornwall. It's a 1999 105,000 miles imported from Germany 2008 5 owners comprehensive service history wants 17,500! what do people think? it's been advertised now since Sept last year, MOT till next May, did HPI check comes up clear. I'm going to see it just wanted to hear from folk with the experience around this, this would be the biggest purchase in my life want to be as sure as I can, appreciate anyone's help, advice or guidance. Thanks

Is this the blue one on Gumtree in Falmouth that you're on about? It's advertised at £15500.

Looks tidy. I think the roof canvas may have been changed but is the wrong style - sorry that's the trainspotter in me. However the photos don't really offer much to go on. It may of been repainted as it's difficult to tell if the vinyl decals are still in place. This doesn't mean it's a bad van though as you would struggle to get these replaced as supply is very limited.

Beyond its looks though it's worth getting down a having a good look underneath. They are well built but still suffer from corrosion.

If it is this one it's quite a package for the money. But you will still want to make sure you check everything works before starting any negotiations. Even the accessories it comes with too.

Are you specifically after a poptop? There are a huge range of T4 Westfalia variants to choose from.

Looks like a California Blue,

http://www.westfaliat4.info/html/1998_vw_westfalia_t4_californi.html and apart from the missing decals and bike rack, everything seems to be standard.