Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Potential New Purchase: T4 California Advantage 2.5 TDI Manual LHD, from 2000

R

richwstenning

Vehicle
Looking to buy
Hi,

I'm new to this world and lovely world and resource!
I'm about to purchase a Westfalia Advantage 2.5 TDI from 2000, LHD, 281,000km.
It has a new MOT but some concerning advisories...
  • Play in steering rack inner joint(s)
  • Under vehicle rusty in places
  • Suspension arm corroded but not seriously weakened (both rear)
  • Anti roll bar linkage or bush worn but not resulting in excessive movement - nearside front
  • Anti roll bar pin or bush worn but not resulting in excessive movement - front
  • Oil leak, but not excessive
  • Break pipe corroded, covered in grease or other material
How concerned should I be of these? Are these normal for this age or could I end up with an expenisve bill here?
Price of purchase is £11k.

Thanks a lot for any feedback!

Ask the owner why they haven’t addressed the advisories. Could be indicative of how they’ve maintained the vehicle i.e. only on failure rather than preventive. Could easily have a few grands worth of work there next time.

Hi,

• Anti roll bar linkage or bush worn but not resulting in excessive movement - nearside front
  • Anti roll bar pin or bush worn but not resulting in excessive movement - front
How concerned should I be of these? Are these normal for this age or could I end up with an expenisve bill here?

I have the last two on my 14 year old Saab.
The brake pipes have a coating on to stop rust !
So no problem there.
Oil leak. I couldn’t find it.
I also have corroded but not weakened. It will be fine for another 14 years.
They don’t sound that bad tbh.

I'm surprised there are so few advisories on a 175K mile Cali. They seem pretty minor so I wouldn't let them make the decision one way of the other. What is the general condition like? How does the poptop bellows look? Someone had a lot of fun in that one.