Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Quiet Storage Of Kitchenware and Other Stuff

G

gatvol

As a complete newbie, might I ask for some tips on how best to keep the noise/ rattles down when driving the vehicle please ? Have people bought snazzy sets that are perhaps rubberised/ go in wraps/ fit together well etc

What to people do about pans rattling/ crockery rattling and flying about/ food containers clattering about ... chauffer style driving is not what i do unfortunately

The cali is so well engineered and quiet I think that it should be possible to keep noise like this down to a minimum with some planning. In older campers It was presumably less of an issue as as the aerodynamic efficiency of a brick partnered with an air cooled engine struggling to do 50mph, and the windows down to keep cool probably made more than enough noise already

Thanks

We have gone with a combination of bubble wrap and non slip matting.We kitted the van out at the weekend just to get an idea and so far.....I haven't noticed cutlery, crockery, pots/pans etc moving around.
The bubble wrap was used by the shop when we bought the mugs so we thought lets keep it. (btw always proper mugs glasses etc...life is too short to be drinking out of melamine!!). The non slip matting came from 2 sources; one set came from a camping outlet and is thicker than the second lot that came from Poundland!! We (Shani) cut it to fit.
We also packed stuff in boxes also to reduce any potential movement.

If you can hear stuff moving around, it's not the noise but the damage you should worry about.

Hope that helps.

Iain

Found out earlier than a clean, unused nappy makes a great sound deadener!!

Iain&Shani said:
KernowLad said:
Found out earlier than a clean, unused nappy makes a great sound deadener!!
:lol: I bet it does! What do you do with it!!

Had a few spare so wrapped them around a couple of rattly mugs!