Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Recommendation of what towbar & trailer for towing. Might add caravan at later date.

Californication69

Californication69

Bill
Top Poster
Lifetime VIP Member
Vehicle
T6.1 Ocean 204 4 motion
I shall have a VW westfalia detachable towbar installed at some point, or what tow bar should I get installed.
I wondered which single axle trailer to use for up to 500KG ?
Taking trips in the UK and EU, freezers to the tip and other such trips.
I have no idea as to a trailer that would suffice.
But would the westfalia detachable tow bar have the ability to pull a small Eriba caravan.
Do I need an anti sway bar? Would that be incorporated on the detachable bit or would I need to add an add on?
I'd rather spend the money now and have what will last for 10 years as and when I buy a caravan. (I love Granny Jens van, very ideal)
Complete novice when it comes to towing, but I do have grandfather rights to towing on my licence from 31 years ago :)
I've heard west midlands trailers are good?
Or do I buy 2nd hand trailer?

Summerise:
What Tow Bar to get installed?
What small trailer to do tip runs? (sofa, tall freezer, etc)

Your detachable tow bar is good for anything within legal weight limits.
When the time comes, get some towing practice before you get serious about holidays.
Anti-snake devices can help; depends what you are towing. A lot rely on the two bolt tow ball fixing; you can get a device to fit to your swan-neck to achieve this.
You just need to look in the classifieds or well known internet sites to find a trailer. Look at one or two and you will see what is good and what is not.

The Westfalia detachable towbar for the VW T5.1 will take a maximum vertical load of 100kg. That is the maximum weight of the downward pressure on the bar and is marked on a label attached to the tow bar. I suspect the T6/6.1 version will be similar if not the same.

The nose weight of a trailer should be between 40 -75kgs.