Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Sad end to holiday but praise for VW assistance

Paulro

Paulro

VIP Member
Lifetime VIP Member
Vehicle
T5 SE 140
We’ve had our California 57reg for nearly 7 years. Bought locally in Bristol from the original owner it’s hardly missed a beat during our ownership.
Every year we’ve taken it to Portugal via France and the ile de Ré and Noirmoutier before heading south to Portugal where I have a small home in the Algarve and we spend the summer. I’m a teacher.
This year the van ran as usual until an hour or so south of Salamanca where I’d filled for the first time ever with diesel plus to “give it a treat”.
This might be totally insignificant, I’m not sure.
Anyway, cruising at around 2000 revs and progressing nicely the yellow coil light appeared. I immediately stopped and rang Heritage VW in Bristol and asked their advice. I had over 400 miles to drive and they said I could drive a short distance but not that long.
After starting up and the light not on I drove 10 miles before it appeared again.
I was towed via VW assistance to Plasencia and 5 days later I left with a new turbo charger. €1800 lighter in the wallet I drove to Portugal without trouble other than the mpg showing 25-28 but no more and a feeling the Cali was underpowered.
VW assistance covered the hotel expenses at €60 a night for 5 nights as well as the recovery costs.
On my return to the UK just over a week ago I drove around 300 miles without an issue other than poor fuel consumption.
We stayed in the Parador in Plasencia (a beautiful hotel) and the following day after 30 miles of gentle driving the same light appeared.
We were taken back to Plasencia while the van was towed back to the main dealer’s the next day where they looked at it but found nothing and gave a clean bill of health .
Next day and 6 miles the light plus limp mode appeared again.
It is being brought back to the UK on a truck.