Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Ski recommendations

W

Wondering Star

Vehicle
T6 Beach 150
When life gets back to normal thinking of a ski trip, any recommendations for complete novices with kids 11/13.
Plan to take the van so sites to park up needed.
A gentle introduction please, not getting any younger!

If possible pre trip visits to an indoor ski training venue (Milton Keynes?)would reduce the risk of accidents and put everyone in a position to enjoy the skiing from day one,

I always recommend Camping Huttopia in Bourg Saint Maurice, nice site with good facilities near a number of ski resorts which are all great for beginners.

Andorra is brilliant for beginners (and novices alike)...lovely big wide rolling pistes, great ski schools. It doesn’t have quite the scenery of the Alps but it’s price makes up for that. Definitely agree with @B J G to start with a lesson at a U.K. snow dome.

• Informative
Reactions: Sad
When life gets back to normal thinking of a ski trip, any recommendations for complete novices with kids 11/13.
Plan to take the van so sites to park up needed.
A gentle introduction please, not getting any younger!

If you're new to skiing do keep in mind that, as beginner, you're going to get very damp and soggy every day, through a combination of sweating and falling in the snow which you will be doing a lot of in your first week. You'll want somewhere to dry off everything overnight, I can't imagine what that would be like in a Cali but certainly not very pleasant. So make sure you book a campsite with guaranteed "ski friendly" facilities including a drying room.

As you'll (I assume) be renting skis and boots, pick a rental location where you can store the whole lot, including the boots, in a drying space every night.