Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Somewhere for the dog ?

T

TimboG

Vehicle
T5 HighTop
I am relatively new to the camper van world and have dipped my toe in the water with a T5 conversion. We bought the van really to see if we liked the way of life but havent used it much. We are dog lovers but dont have one at the moment and didnt think we would get one in the short term. Now a lovely Golden Retriever has come up that needs a new home but then the camper just isnt big enough to accomodate us all. I didnt really want to get an awning because of the hassle of putting up / taking it down particularly when we probably will move on or only stay a couple of days or so in any one place. Is it as big a hassle as i think ? Realistically please be honest about how long it takes to put up and take down, which would you recommend and if you can think of any other options ?

My vango kela takes me 1-2 hours to put up on my own. But I like to ensure all guys are used no matter what the weather.
The comforzt awning room is a fraction of tbe time, but not as dog or weather tight.

Thanks for the quick and straightforward feedback Alison. To go away for a weekend and spend nearly 4 hours putting up and taking down an awning to me defeats the object of the exercise but as i say you have been very helpful.

Thanks for the quick and straightforward feedback Alison. To go away for a weekend and spend nearly 4 hours putting up and taking down an awning to me defeats the object of the exercise but as i say you have been very helpful.
If you are with the family I am sure it will be a lot quicker. The video’s on youtube show more like 10 mins (but without pegging everything down). Hopefully others have got it more efficient than I have on my own.

I have a khyam drive way awning and screen house.
Being 6’8” tall helps, but I can get it out of its bag and up in 2 mins, with swmbo pegging it out in 5/10 mins if the ground is ok for pegs.