Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Stalling at idle AAF 2.5 petrol engine

en2rafg

en2rafg

Vehicle
T4 PopTop
Hi,

We've just driven to the port to catch the ferry home and the van started running lumpy at idle then stalling. It will restart fine, but will die again unless the revs are kept up. Does anyone have any ideas? O think we can get it off the boat, but not sure if I should drive the 60 miles home or call out the breakdown services.

It hasn't done this before, but had/has issues with the emissions being high in the MOT. From what I've been reading I'm thinking the MAF in the ECU could be perished and not reading correctly, but I'm not an expert in this.

It's a 2.5 litre petrol AAF engine in a 1993 California Coach.

Any help would be much appreciated!

Thanks!

Sent from my moto g(7) power using Tapatalk

Probably not related as on Fords but when I had similar problems it was the anti-dieseling valves. One was built into the Carb to shut fuel off - sticking plunger- the other was a separate air valve that let air to the manifold when power off -didn't seal/close properly and let air in weakening the air/fuel at idle..
Pre fuel injection issue.

Could even be Brake Servo vaccum pipe perished.

Hi,

We've just driven to the port to catch the ferry home and the van started running lumpy at idle then stalling. It will restart fine, but will die again unless the revs are kept up. Does anyone have any ideas? O think we can get it off the boat, but not sure if I should drive the 60 miles home or call out the breakdown services.

It hasn't done this before, but had/has issues with the emissions being high in the MOT. From what I've been reading I'm thinking the MAF in the ECU could be perished and not reading correctly, but I'm not an expert in this.

It's a 2.5 litre petrol AAF engine in a 1993 California Coach.

Any help would be much appreciated!

Thanks!