Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Strength of nearside Awning rail

rippers

rippers

VIP Member
Vehicle
T6 Ocean 204
Is the nearside awning rail glued on from factory? how much weight would it hold?

Thanks

It is glued on.

We just met a German Cali-driver in France last week, and he had had his rail come off already two times (refitted under warranty)...
So, it won't hold a whole lot of weight, I'd guess..

I regularly use the Brandrup 20 Li collapsible water filler bottle. This hangs from the nearside rail whilst filling up the tank and since 20Li = 20 Kg this is a fair bit of weight at a single point on the rail. I was a bit nervous at first, but I've been doing this for the last two years with no problem. So I guess VW must fix 'em on pretty well.

What I want to mount is 13kgs on two points about 12 inches apart.

Is it risky? thats a lot less then the 20litres of water from a single point.

Hello,

Just contacted VW dealer concerning the weight ratio of the rail, because I was planning to build and attach a solar shower of +/- 30kg on that rail.
The answer I got is very blurry, but they said that the awning itself has a weight of 25kg ... so they recommended not to exceed 30kg.
So for my project I won't take the risk. Hopefully this is helpfull.

Cheers
Greg

Hello,

Just contacted VW dealer concerning the weight ratio of the rail, because I was planning to build and attach a solar shower of +/- 30kg on that rail.
The answer I got is very blurry, but they said that the awning itself has a weight of 25kg ... so they recommended not to exceed 30kg.
So for my project I won't take the risk. Hopefully this is helpfull.

Cheers
Greg
The awning may only weigh 30 kg but then Thule sells side and front screens that are subject to wind pressure. People on here have left awnings out in heavy rain and water accumulated to such an extent that the legs collapsed, no mention of damage to the rail.