Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Total Newbie question - how to get in the upper bed?

CDinFrance

CDinFrance

Vehicle
T6 Ocean 204
I found one post about a broken armrest and a Fiamma ladder, but it is still unclear to me whether the Cali has a slick way to get in and out of the roof bed...

If there is an elegant way to get in it then I have yet to find it :sad

Whatever I do it normally ends up as an ungainly scramble that at some point threatens to have me firmly wedged sideways in the upstairs canopy :shocked Escape normally ends up with me having one foot in whatever I'm using for a loo that morning,

Many do not even bother and sleep downstaires , we go up without ladders or steps
Step on the seat and use arms to push yourself up untin you can sit on the bed , than lift legs up and turn in the bed...easy!

Many do not even bother and sleep downstaires , we go up without ladders or steps
Step on the seat and use arms to push yourself up untin you can sit on the bed , than lift legs up and turn in the bed...easy!

I totally agree with this.
We've hardly ever slept downstairs and even in our 70s have found the scramble up top to be relatively straightforward and the reward is a much comfier and wider bed! And plenty of uncluttered space left below.
So go for it.
However I am about 6 weeks into rehab from a triple bypass and although everything seems to be knitting together just fine I'm wondering how long to put off my first reintroduction to the big climb.
Might post a video when I do.
Should be instructive if not a bit of a laugh.
:)

@barry get well soon and great idea about a video.

We normaly stand on the turned passenger seat (LHD) and facing the back of our cali, one our hand on the bed (right hand) and the left one just above the passenger window/on the roof and a tiny hop and a so called 180ty and there you go... mhm.. I have to film this move to laugh/giggle :)