Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Transporting sit-on-top kayaks - any thoughts/advice

McGoogly

McGoogly

VIP Member
Vehicle
T6 Beach 4Motion
Hi, I am a complete newbie to the forum and I would really appreciate any thoughts anyone might have on transporting kayaks. We have just bought a VW Beach and we are wondering if it is going to be possible to transport our two SOT kayaks. We believe that it is possible to fit roof bars to a pop top but is it advisable? Are there any issues that we should be aware of? If not on the roof, how do you transport your kayaks or surf boards? I'd be grateful for any advice (obviously a sensible person would have thought about this before falling in love with a vehicle and parting with a deposit!)

Hi, I am a complete newbie to the forum and I would really appreciate any thoughts anyone might have on transporting kayaks. We have just bought a VW Beach and we are wondering if it is going to be possible to transport our two SOT kayaks. We believe that it is possible to fit roof bars to a pop top but is it advisable? Are there any issues that we should be aware of? If not on the roof, how do you transport your kayaks or surf boards? I'd be grateful for any advice (obviously a sensible person would have thought about this before falling in love with a vehicle and parting with a deposit!)

I started out with intentions of transporting my Canadian canoe on my Cali but so far not done so! If you are happy to heave the boats up onto the roof just be aware of the weight limit of the roof.
I ended up getting a decent inflatable tandem canoe for the occasional paddle.

We had a 2 man sit on top (Bic Trinidad) and we used to just transported it on the VW roof bars without much issue. Loading was a right pain.

I know many folks use the side loading racks to make it easier.

Standard roof bars will be fine, might be worth having a vertical bar in the middle to prevent the boats from moving sideways:

Hi,