Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

User profiles - assign vehicle key automatically- how does this work?

R_Sargeant_CH

R_Sargeant_CH

Vehicle
T6 Ocean 150 4Motion
Hi all,

Maybe I’m just a stupid computer systems engineer, but the California system of “User profiles “ has me stumped.

2022 Ocean with Discovery Pro etc…

When I enter the Cali, it gets me with “Welcome Richard.” Sometimes it greets me with “Hello Gabriela “, and destroys my faith in VW programming. Maybe I can sue VW on grounds of gender correctness?

I’ve read the manuals (in both English and German) and found nothing, except for an indirect reference to storing profiles for the memory seats, which we don’t have.

Browsing through the horribly designed setup menus, I find at Menu, Users, Settings, “Assign vehicle key automatically “. That sounds hopeful, but whether or not I check that box, the Cali still gets it wrong.

My expectation was that I have one key, my wife the second and that we are greeted with our respective names. Bonus points if the appropriate profile is selected.

Am I expecting too much here? How is this supposed to work?

Frustrated from Switzerland…

I was searching for the same issue and thought I'd found an answer....only to find nobody answered your question...;-(

Hopefully someone knows how profiles & keys work.

If its any consolation, I have a Tesla and its nearly as bad. It does assign user profiles to keys (key = your phone) but it randomly selects either my wife's or my phone when entering the car, so its not much help..;-)

I was searching for the same issue and thought I'd found an answer....only to find nobody answered your question...;-(

If its any consolation, I have a Tesla and its nearly as bad. It does assign user profiles to keys (key = your phone) but it randomly selects either my wife's or my phone when entering the car, so its not much help..;-)