Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Which way round to park in caravan sites?

O

OxCal

VIP Member
Hi all

I am feeling a bit embarrassed asking this - but which way round should one park on a caravan club or similar site? I have heard they have rules about whether one should park nose in or nose away from the peg - but with our Cali's having the opening (and awning) on the driver's side, should one park nose in instead of backing in so that one faces the 'correct' way away from one's neighbours? Are the warden's generally bothered? Has anyone ever been asking to turn their vehicle around?

In which case, if it needs to be nose in, does this hit my thinking about buying the Khyam tailgate awning on the head as we would not actually be able to drive away from it without reversing 'over' it?

Probably a bit of a stupid question... :oops: but would be grateful for any thoughts!

We are total newbies and took deliver only a week ago and have not had any outings yet (and have only ever stayed on a Caravan site once before, when we hired a Cali to try out in June).

Thanks a lot!

The Cali is a bit of an oddity what with having the door on the wrong side compared to most vans. That said, the bit about keeping to the peg is more about safe spacing from a neighbour rather than being about the direction you park in as such.

I tend to try to keep the opening consistent with whatever the neighbours are doing. With my usual preference to be keeping the open door aiming towards the south (or the scenery) If in doubt, ask the wardens. We have stayed on lots of Caravan sites and I've never yet stayed on one where they are particularly bothered. You do occasionally hear horror stories of aggressive wardens moving people but I think that is often more to do with the attitude of the camper that anything.