Winter wheels and tyres in Switzerland

Jillops

Jillops

Chris
VIP Member
Vehicle
T6 Ocean 150
Hi guys,

What's the difference between 7HC and 7HMA?

Love the forum, I'm still new to it. I've been trawling through them learning all about tyres and looking for advice etc as I need winter tyres for my Cali out here in Switzerland. p.s. Loving my purchase in May this year, T6 Cali Ocean 150PS DSG (see pic taken in Grindelwald).

So far I think I have decided to keep it simple and buy steels with winters, same size as what came with the van, then have a garage change them for me, I am certainly not hands on and want to play it safe! I really want alloys, but with talk of salt corrosion and the amount I hope to be driving in the mountains, (and saving a few Swiss Francs) I'll maybe save that for when my summer tyres eventually need replacing.

So I have gone to the Swiss equivalent (or so it looks) of mytyres website (www.reifendirekt.ch) and gone to the wheel and tyre selector. Steel wheels with winter tyres, T6 California 2.0 TDI and then I need to choose the type of vehicle. I know I have the 110KW 150PS but is there a difference between 7HC and 7HMA? See screen grab below.

I currently have 215/65 R16 C ContiVanContact 200. It also says 109/107 R 106/104T on the tyre wall which has confused me, there is quite a difference in the tyres available between these load and speed ratings. But I assume so long as I get at least 103 load or higher with R I'll be just fine?

Could I go to 17" if I wanted? Any benefit other than looking better? I want the best grip only having FWD and not 4M, happy to keep at 16" if this will work better. I do like the classic VW steel wheels, I can't seem to find them but maybe they're nothing special and they are just a disk or cap inserted in the middle?

Cheers!
Chris

IMG_2335.JPG

WheelSelector.png

I assume you have tried searching by registration to get round this problem?