Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Balance Cable for topping up Starter Battery.

campandfly

campandfly

VIP Member
Vehicle
T5 SE 180 4Motion
Thought I would create a dedicated thread for those thinking of how to top up their starter battery and possibly using a balance cable.

Disclaimer:- This is definitely a Hack, I am not an electrician. You need to be very careful. Different vehicles may have various electrical setups. VW do not recommend charging batteries via the 12v cigarette lighter sockets.(at least in my user manual)

The purpose of making a balance cable was for topping up the starter battery and not letting it get low if you are parked up, eg. not on hookup and are not driving or running the engine.
Yesterday was a beautiful sunny day so I decided to test my DIY Solar setup and balance cable.
I deliberately ran my starter battery down by playing the radio and leaving the headlights on. I don't recommend doing this. It was done purely to test both systems.

Our Cali has the original batteries and is 5 years old.
The leisure batteries were at 13.4volts ~full (I can get them up to 13.7v if on hookup)20200407_125332.jpg20200407_125350.jpg
The Starter battery after running down was at 12volts ~50%
The Cali was NOT on hookup.
It was a full sun day and the 100watt solar panel was chucking out ~20v 5amps. My Solar controller charges the leisure batteries to 13.4volts.
The overhead control panel was showing the leisure battery level starting at 13.4v and 0.0 A amperage draw below it.
For the test I turned everything off in the leisure area including all lights,fridge and unplugged any accessories.
The overhead Amp reading should be 0.0 A occasionaly it will be 0.2 A as the control panel I think uses a bit.
The balance cable has
2 male cigarette lighter plugs fused at 10amps and with LED lights built in.
It also has an inline switch rated at 240v and 30amps.