Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Belgium

F

Flood51

Vehicle
T6 Ocean 204
My brother and I had planned on attending the Somme 100th anniversary on 1st July and visiting the graves of three great uncles. However bro has had a recent health problem and since the Somme anniversary was mainly his idea plus I would prefer not to get stuck in France with an empty tank on my first Cali trip to Europe I am thinking of turning left at Dunkirk and heading into Belgium. But apart from Brussels, Antwerp and Bruges I have no knowledge of the country or where to go. Got about a week. Any ideas before I cancel the French campsite ?

Last edited:
Liege.

The Ardenne.

Liege is a hugely historical fortress city and possibly the one place more than any other where the Von Schliefen plan was delayed sufficiently for it to be subsequently undone. It is a bit metropolitan but still worth a visit.

The Ardenne is streams, rivers and woods, rolling hillside, narrow roads and tracts and, of course, history. Franco - Prussian, WW1 and WW2 significantly.

I will be in Albert on July 1st so hope that your fears about French fuel supply prove groundless :(

1 july is a long way ahead, the strikes and blokking of the oilcompany's are already now over....read the thread on it.
So think your planned trip would be no problem , even if you could drive acrros the border to fill up as you will be near it.
But if you planning to visit Belgium , there are not that many places to freecamp or camperspots. You need to look out for campsites if you want facilitys and hook-up.
The big city's as you say , use parkings and public service like metro in Brussel
Antwerp and Brugges by foot.
Antwerp got two campsites , one on the other side of the river "Schelde" walk thru a tunnel and arrive at the ancient city and cathedral.
Other campsite is bit further and need bikes or tram/ metro in to town
The Ardennes got lots of campsites and some camperspots