Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Just put a deposit on a 2015 beach - questions about the added extras they are trying to flog me....

B

benico

VIP Member
Vehicle
T5 Beach
Hi All

Just put a deposit down on a SH Beach! at a VW dealership. Before I could do the deal they tried to sell me a whole range of extra products including Gap Insurance [I said I don't shop at Gap anymore so don't need it;-)]. They also offered me a 2 year warranty for £590ish and the interior stain and ext. paint treatment for £340ish.For these I asked for some further details and said I would think about it.

As I am new to this would be good to get some views on whether these are good deals. For some context the van has done 50k with full VW service history. We will probs be doing around 10K miles per year.

Will introduce the van formally later!

Thanks all

Hi, good decision.

I'd not bother with the paint and interior cover, thats a bit of a money for old rope moneymaker.

As for the extended warranty. Is it a VW one or aftermarket?

If aftermarket check the small print for the many likely exclusions.

If VW it will give you peace of mind for those silly things that can always go wrong, at 50k and 4 years old already issues could crop up. Alternatively it could run sweetly for 10 years before anything troubling occurs, people have different experiences.

Have fun whatever you decide

Local dealer or further afield?
Hopefully you were told about the £1200 of extras could have for free....
We just bought and didn’t go for either of those three. We got seat covers and the paint protection didn’t sound that great...
I did consider the warranty though given the number of people posting with reliability issues but my view was most things would go wrong in the next 12 months or so with the warranty still in place...