Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Leisure Batteries ...a sorry tale

J

Johnw123

VIP Member
Vehicle
T6 Coast 204 4Motion
Hi All

By trade I am an electronic engineer with many years experience but this is a story about being lazy and a bit thick It does have a happy ending and is probably a replay of many of the posts here but I hope the information will be of use

When we purchased our California (3 years ago) it remained in storage at the dealers from September thru to January. Its a long story as to why that happened so I wont bore you. Suffice to say that the leisure batteries were completely flat on receipt of the van. The one thing to never do with a lead acid battery is to allow it to go completely flat and remain there for some time. So knowing that they were flat and may have been damaged I asked the dealer to check them at the first service. The answer was that the batteries were fine !

So we used the van for lots of trips in the UK and abroad and are extremely happy with it. But....the batteries dropped quite quickly from fully charged over a few days and had to be charged up again ...not a big deal and I thought there must be a small permanent load and thats what draining them. I even (non scientifically ) ran the fridge etc over a few days just to see how long the batteries would hold up.... around 3 days so not too bad?...thats the lazy bit. So we kept using the van as as we are normally plugged in on site it was never an issue.

Then along comes covid and the van just sits there. Then I got scientific about my electricity bill and usage at home and one thing came up consistently in that the van pulled reasonable amount of power on charge and it didnt go down.... As lead acid batteries charge the rate should drop off to just a small "top up" current once they are up to full charge.