Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

New to the club - just bought a Cali Freestyle

C

CB55

VIP Member
Vehicle
Looking to buy
Hi,
I have been looking at a range of LHD T3, T4 and T5 Calis. I am totally new to the camper world, but after looking at one yesterday at Busfest, I pulled the trigger. It was recently listed on EBay - really low mileage of 58K with great history and loving owners since 2006.
I was impressed with the 2+ hour drive back - engine really responsive. I will hopefully be off to Italy in it later this year to give it a real run.
It is in such good condition, I don't have a immediate list of snags to fix. However, there is always a list of things to buy!
Any suggestions/tips welcomed.
Top of the list is a modern head unit - looking on here there was a recommendation for the Alpine Halo 9. I will want to add the reversing camera - any tips or links re running the wires and fitment?
Has anybody retrofitted reversing sensors?
I had looked at the solar panel options for T5, but they have the runners? Has anyone added solar panels - which ones/supplier?
Lastly, security options? Which are best for insurance? I have a pedal lock for my old Defender - anyone use that type of device?
TIA
Chris

Great choice. Love the late T4 Cali's. Is yours the 102 or 150 engine?
When I was in those vans I preferred the original VW stereo and a small Bluetooth adapter that plugged into the cd changer socket on the rear if the unit. It's a bit clunky and no good for phone calls (as no mic), but great for streaming holiday tunes and podcasts.
If you fancy staying OEM, don't dismiss those little FM Bluetooth transmitters that plug in the cigarette socket. They have come on a lot and the one in my Ducato works very well indeed.

There's not many T4 owners here but there are some and you'll find lots of info in the T4 section of the forum. There's also a good Westfalia camper group on Facebook.