Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

T5 Heater Problems

P

PTatts

Vehicle
T5 SE 140
Hi All,

I'm afraid I'm a total newbie and not very tech minded so forgive my question if it's obvious or omitting a vital piece of information!

I've got a 2005 T5 California which I believe was factory fitted (i.e. no conversion). The diesel night heater works fine when the engine is on, but if I try to turn the heater on without the engine on then it will blow cold air for about 30 seconds, then switch itself off. If I turn the heater on with the engine running then it will continue to blow hot air for a short period of time but turn itself off quite quickly. I think this problem first surfaced when I managed to run the leisure battery flat and I have since replaced this battery. This leads me to think it may be a computer/fuse issue, but I've honestly no clue.

So... Any advice on how to solve the problem myself/what to look for?
Or... Does anyone know of a garage in the South Yorkshire/Manchester area who are able to deal with leisure heaters. I went to my local van conversion place, and he didn't really know.

Thank you in advice, my trip to the alps last February was decidedly chilly!!

What is the voltage on your leisure battery? It sounds like the low voltage cut off is kicking in to avoid damaging the battery but the fact its shutting off with engine too is odd. It may need a diagnostic tool connecting for any error messages.

A few things to check:

Is the battery charging when driving?
Do you charge on hookup once a month to keep the battery in top condition? Is it charging when on hookup?

Hi All,

I'm afraid I'm a total newbie and not very tech minded so forgive my question if it's obvious or omitting a vital piece of information!