Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

upload photos - size too big...

A

alex_warner

Hi,

Just joined up... wanted to share all our nice trips in the Cali but the site limits photos to 1mb! :shocked

Havent got a flashy camera, just a plain old iphone... does this mean that no HD photos can be uploaded??

This would seem to exclude the majority of photos taken on todays cameras and smart phones... :doh

Thanks.

Hi Alex welcome looking forward to seeing your pictures :thumb I'm no expert but I think you just need to resize them if you have any problems email them to Martin. At. Admin@vwcaliforniaclub.com. I'm sure we can sort it out for you :thumb

Alex, the reason we only allow 1MB is to stop very large files being uploaded onto our server and using up the sites bandwidth.

The best thing to do is use an online image editor to reduce the size of your photo's, its takes just a few seconds to reduce them to under 1MB.

This is a good one: http://www.picresize.com/

Also alot of people on here link their images from flickr, photobucket etc .... which is also a good option as it saves you having to edit anything.

Thanks both, I just feel that to make the site more user friendly it would be worth allowing up to 2mb as the average picture now is 1-2mb. Resizing and using proxy photo sites may just lead to folk not bothering... You know how it is these days! :crazy Anyway hope you don't mind the observations. Cheers. :thumb

alex_warner said:
Thanks both, I just feel that to make the site more user friendly it would be worth allowing up to 2mb as the average picture now is 1-2mb. Resizing and using proxy photo sites may just lead to folk not bothering... You know how it is these days! :crazy Anyway hope you don't mind the observations. Cheers. :thumb

This is common to all the forums I've been on. I upload all my photos to photobucket and just link them into any posts i make.
Its dead easy and takes no time at all.