Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

A new era dawns...

M

Music Man

VIP Member
Vehicle
T5 SE 174
It was only a matter of time I guess!

When I was a kid I rode my bicycle in the park.
When I was a teenager I rode it to Brighton.
When I was 20 I rode it from London, across France, over the Pyrenees and down to Alicante in Spain.
By the time I was 30 I was doing the same trip on my Honda VFR motorbike.
When I met my future wife we started borrowing her sister's 1980 T25 Joker for camping in SW France....

So, I sold the bike and I've been running a 1990 T25 Cali for the past 9 years, and for the past 7 years we've been "joined" by our twins. A brilliant van that we've loved travelling all over France in, visiting family and generally exploring. Indeed, we were booked on a ferry to France to take the van again this summer and looking forward to it. However, my head was turned by the lure of an "upgrade" to a newer van and, amongst many other positives, the possibility to actually have AIRCON whilst on the road! Too many long journeys in the south of France in 38 degrees. And so last Saturday I passed on our van to a lovely family and then headed over to pick up my newly bought 2006 2.5 174PS T5 Cali SE, found via this very website.

What a change, but at the same time it feels so familiar. Even the kids were saying it felt like we'd had the van for years on the drive home! Not sure how long it will take for the facial cramps from the smiling to subside. Currently totally absorbed in the process of deciding how and where to put things and endless poring over website pages of other people's approaches and IKEA storage boxes. What a mine of information this club forum offers.