Decision made, and here we are

Mike Frost

Mike Frost

2009 130 T5 SE - "BARBARA ANN"
VIP Member
Vehicle
T5 SE 140
Hello one and all,

Jude and I have been mooting campervan purchase, off and on, for about 15 years. We are both retired so outside lane blasts from hotel to hotel in Jude's convertible, or on my BMW RT are being probably in the main replaced by the more rounded experience option of a California SE - Barbara Ann - a 2009 T5 baby with very good specification and 36K on the clock.

We look forward, like I daresay many others, to benefitting from reams of good advice from the more experienced members of the club!

Here's a simple question for starters; does the alternator charge the two leisure batteries, as well as the giant lump under the bonnet please? I'm going to set up winter charging points, one for the side socket that services the leisure batteries, and a smart charger for under the bonnet - am I duplicating effort here?

Cheers,
Mike

Hi Mike welcome yes the alternator will charge your van battery first when it gets up to a certain voltage a relay will switch over to the leisure batteries again if your van battery starts to drop it will switch back.

The alternator charges both although I believe it only charges the leisure battery up to around 80%.

The recommendation from VW Is a 24 hour mains charge at least once a month to give full 100%.

Oh, a big welcome by the way :D

Welcome Mike!

I charge both from time to time and no problem so far (batterie itself is about 5 years old or older...)

Last edited: