Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Drivers door catching on seal

J

Jeanpatrick

To add to all our other other problems we now have a problem with the drivers door catching on the seal at the bottom, it looks like the door has dropped and has now caused the bottom of the door to to rust. Anyone else had this before I approach the dealer?

I have the identical fault. My paint shop guy actually alerted me to it, when he saw my Cali for the first time as we were collecting another car from him. He has undertaken this repair many times on T5.

It obviously a design or manufacturing flaw. I suspect it would yield a nasty little hole if left unchecked

Mine off for warranty repair of it soon.

You are luckier than me, we are outside of warranty and a goodwill claim was declined saying it was caused by excessive opening and shutting of the door !!! What if I was a delivery driver :cry: VW Bodyshop has quoted £872 to re allign the door and respray it.

I wonder what they count as excessive, and how do they know?

Sent from my Sony Tablet S using Tapatalk

Hi there

Just sold 60 plate Kombi where the bottom rear corner of the drivers door was catching on the body causing a rust patch that in a couple of years time will be a hole. Vehicle had done 60k miles with full VW service history.
Also have a look at the front of the handle on the sliding door, is it digging into the paint? If it is this will also develop into a rust patch.

VW = premium brand, not anymore :censor

Jeanpatrick said:
You are luckier than me, we are outside of warranty and a goodwill claim was declined saying it was caused by excessive opening and shutting of the door !!! What if I was a delivery driver :cry: VW Bodyshop has quoted £872 to re allign the door and respray it.

So your Cali is around 3 years old and the door has been opened/shut more times than it was designed for? Unless it's been used as a taxi or has hyper mileage I can't see that argument holding water.