Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Funny smell in VW Cali and we are supposed to sleep in it tonight

Morning - made it through the night!
Had the AA out this am and half, no all, of the campsite staring at us - mostly caravanners!!
Bear with me as I am not technical - Mrs Tim here! He thinks the water pump has shorted the battery under the water tank and the leisure battery was due a change. He was really good and tested all and had the front seat off looking at the battery there. Anyway Mr Tim has gone off to replace the battery and try and fit it and I am sitting here surrounded by our boxes from the boot in the sun at last.
Thank you all for your help last night. It was quite scary and a lesson to us to get a bit more familiar with the van we have had for 4 years!!

Sounds as if you have solved it so pleased for you.... we were in Italy and had a terrible smell in the van, could not trace it, searched all over, looking for mice etc until we remembered that we had some Gorgonzola in the frig..... it was the source of the smell. Clearly not so I. Your case thoughM

Tim, hoping you’ve got this sorted. Reading the history this is more likely an electrical fault. It’s straightforward disconnecting the leisure battery or pump and I’d have it looked at by someone who understands Calis as soon as you can.

Hi Tim, Can I ask what campsite you are on,,? Reason, we have had a similar problem only twice in 11 years on the very same campsite in Cornwall, where we lost fridge power and a strange smell.