Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Hello

• Thread starter TVtrevorthecamper
  • Start date
T

TVtrevorthecamper

Vehicle
Looking to buy
Newbie here. Looking to buy a 10 year old Cali very soon. Any advice on what to look for would be most appreciated. 2WD ver 4WD? What parts of the fit out suffer the most, problems with engines and suspension, that sort of thing.

Trev.

Where do you start. Obviously there are pitfalls with any 10 year old vehicle. The more “bits” on the vehicle the more to go wrong. I’ve never been in a position where I needed 4wd and can be expensive if it goes wrong. They say that the 180 bi turbo is more liable to drinking oil when the engine wears more rapidly. Can be costly. Big wheels with wide tyres look nice but have a hard ride and expensive to replace. Make sure it has a good service history. To me it doesn’t matter if it’s Dealer serviced or your local garage after all it’s a VW van.As long as the job is done correctly that’s all that matters.

• Welcome
Reactions: Sad
Newbie here. Looking to buy a 10 year old Cali very soon. Any advice on what to look for would be most appreciated. 2WD ver 4WD? What parts of the fit out suffer the most, problems with engines and suspension, that sort of thing.

Trev.
Welcome Trev. For every question that gets answered here, think about how the poster's use of their van might compare with yours. Eg 4WD might be very important for someone who takes their van to the Alps, but not so much if you're only going to be summer camping. One huge difference is whether you need your van to be your daily driver, or just a high-days-and-holidays camper.

Biggest question obviously SE/Ocean or a Beach - I assume you'll get yourself straight on that before you go much further. If you go for SE/Ocean don't kid yourself that you can just buy a fifth seat and pop it in and out whenever you need to... they are bloody heavy and awkward. Okay maybe if you're a body-builder.