Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

I'm no techie as you will see.....Media in ...eh?

I

iwjenkins

Vehicle
T5 SE 180 4Motion
...hello all...I am an idiot and I should know stuff like this. :cry:

Final push for specification and I need to know if I need

Media-in - with iPod/iPhone adaptor or
Media-in - with USB adaptor cable and AUX-IN to connect external audio devices...OR Both ?????

The wife, Louise, has an iPad and iPod, we both have iPhones and I have a clunky laptop.

We want to be able to

- listen to her songs (apparently)
- charge all devices
- connect our phones to something so we can answer from a button on the multi-function steering wheel and talk/listen.
- is there anything else ??

We have selected Bluetooth premium so maybe this covers the phone bit but I don't know as I am an idiot. :?

:help

I'm drowning in my ignorance :headbang

Hi and welcome!

I went through this dilemma too.

I have the premium bluetooth and MFSW and you are right, this covers the phone controls and enables you to make and answer calls with no need to attach the phone with any wires.

The bluetooth also allows you to listen to music from your iPhone (I have an iPhone 5S) and the sound quality is actually quite good. I assume that an iPad or iPod would also connect this way via bluetooth but I may be wrong.

The MDI lead with iPhone connector would mean that the iPhone (or iPod) could be charged whilst connected to the socket in the glovebox. I believe you would also be able to see the song titles and select tracks in the little display in the dash (between the speed and rev dials).

As to which lead you need, I think it would just be the Media-in iPod/iPhone adaptor that you would need as it sounds like your devices are all apple-based.

I didn't get either lead in the end and, for me, the bluetooth does everything that I need it to with my phone.

Hope this helps!
Maud