Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Mifi

Cwoods1405

Cwoods1405

Vehicle
T5 SE 180
i am contemplating buying a payg 3 mifi to use travelling around France later in the year. I wondered if anyone can give me some feedback on how good they are? I am aware that this will depend on signal strength and I have looked at their coverage ( which looks pretty good) but want to try and find out what the reality is if possible. Will obviously use here as well when my Tesco data fails! I did try looking for relevant threads but I'm not very good at doing that sorry and didn't get much back

I have 3 MiFi.

Reception in France is generally excellent. No roaming charges either.

I find position in the van sometimes helps. When stationary I find up in the pop top where the flexi light is, power cable wound around the flexi light to help prevent the wifi falling to the floor, is the best place.

Travelling I often leave it plugged in to the kitchen side and popped into the rear seat pocket. Do not travel in France with it on the dashboard. Gendarmes can get ever so slightly upset if they mistake it for a radar detector. Being constantly pulled over can be severely detrimental to one's speed of travel :sad

As a bonus, my 3 MiFi is excellent in the UK as well, including the Scottish Highlands where vodafone often failed.

They are good and in fact I use one constantly when out here in Portugal.

You can get PAYG in France from various providers, or even take a '3UK' with you as it will work there using your UK plan.

Consider buying a sim free unit. Even though you'll likely concentrate your spend on a single provider, I carry a selection of 99p cards from every supplier (on the tills at supermarkets) to get me out of trouble (such as the need to respond to a business email, or find a campsite......, obviously not for watching films).

Please tell me that I am not alone? I thought that Mifi was that "sweet little bunny" on childrens TV!