Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Paying French tolls

Freeley

Freeley

VIP Member
Vehicle
T5 SE 174
This may seem like a really stupid question to all you euro veterans but as its my first time i will ask anyway.

When it comes to paying tolls can you use a visa/credit card on all of them (and is it wise to with potential card charges) or do i need plenty of cash?
And if some of the tolls are unmanned do the machines take notes or only change.
And if they only take change where the hell am i going to get that amount of change from other than stopping at shops every 5 minutes ?????
Have checked out a couple of French toll sites but they seem a bit vague to me......i'm confused again :?

Oh and how much do you reckon it'll cost to get from calais to grindelwald ?!

Please help.......

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2

My advice is to steer well clear of toll roads, enjoy the countries you pass through........as I did set the SatNav to avoid them.....

But if you can't.......change and notes are normally accepted....on unmanned booths........

Credit cards accepted - easier than rooting around for notes and change. I'd recommend getting a receipt every time used, so you can track your bills when they come in.
Fairly sure all exits have manned booths if you'd rather use cash - so no need for exact change.
Don't expect it to be cheap, but the toll roads are a quick way to travel a long distance. Roads are good and usually traffic free (cos everyone else probably avoids them due to the cost!)
But still MUCH better value that M6 toll!

Aires are frequent (every 10 miles?) but most have minimal services ( i.e. not like UK service stations).

Fuel prices are shown on the roadside for the next few service stations that do have fuel. Fuel is more expensive on the motorways than off, but not as exorbitant as on UK motorways.

And there's more ... (remembered a few other bits about toll roads) ...