Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Pitch decision

Scorps

Scorps

VIP Member
Vehicle
T6 Ocean 204
I'm new to all this, and I would like to know what sort of pitch you all go for. Grass or hard standing?

Grass, if only because I've never been attracted by 'camping' on a patch of gravel or tarmac. Unless it's really muddy and/or there's a chance of an embarrassing wheel spin on the way out next morning.

I'm new to all this, and I would like to know what sort of pitch you all go for. Grass or hard standing?
As has been said, depends on the weather and what's available. We don't use a driveway awning so can take anything. Some hardstanding pitches don't allow such awnings.

depends on the weather and rain fall for us
Wet ground we go for hardstanding and dry we go for grass.
As has been said, depends on the weather and what's available. We don't use a driveway awning so can take anything. Some hardstanding pitches don't allow such awnings.
If you pre book you pitch and the weathers wet can you change?

That really depends on the Campsite and how full it is. No guarantees.

Outside of school holidays . Easy to change pitch several times .
At a campsite this evening ,few campers . So wondered around considering several pitches.
Grass pitches is our preference if not too wet.

So your relying on the British weather if you book in advance :Nailbiting
No. I have a 4Motion so wet grass doesn't bother me. The last thing a well run campsite wants is damaged pitches, so grass pitches are normally well drained or closed during winter. So, no problem.

If booking ahead tend to go hard standing as think it is easier to change to grass if all is well with the wet than changing from grass to hard standing.

As long as i got the best view i don't bother where i stand on.
If you prefer only hardstanding you will miss out on some great views...