Shire Cali

Shire Cali

Shire Cali

Shire Cali
VIP Member
Vehicle
T6 Ocean 204
Hi All

I'm brand new to the Cali world, took ownership 3 weeks ago, haven't had the chance to use the van yet...Rain stopped play. Does anybody have any top tips on essentials required?

Welcome.:welcome

A sense of humour is an essential.

Welcome on board ,
seems the beginning of summer has brought up a whole load of new members ....they just keep finding the way to this magnificent forum!

Don't let rain spoil your adventures...!

Sorry for my sarcasm above, couldn't resist! :D

Essentials for a short first trip probably include:
- Electric hook-up cable (if planning to stay more than 24 hours in one place - otherwise you'll manage fine on the leisure batteries). You prob only need a 15m cable in UK but may want to get a 25m straight off, or a 10 plus a 15 for flexibility. Top up the leisure batts from 240v at home, so they get a full charge before setting off.
- Camping Gaz bottle. Fit and practice with it at home.
- Levelling blocks are rarely needed but very handy when you do need them so you may as well get a pair now.
- Top-up tube/whatever for fresh water (or just fill up before you go, tank will last a good few days).
- Separate small water container if you have qualms about drinking water from the tank.
- Bedding. Tons on the forum about that - but start out with what you have at home, eg duvet and sheets or sleeping bags.
- Torch.
- Small kettle. The Outwell collapsible ones are cute and practical, if you fancy buying your van a nice present.
- Some kitchenware borrowed from your kitchen. It's quite feasible to take ordinary china, old glasses etc until you decide what fancy melamine etc you really need long term.
- Corkscrew / bottle opener.
- Plastic bucket for carrying stuff to the campsite washup point.
- Washing up liquid and a drying up towel.