Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

T4 or T5? and more

Noeleen

Noeleen

Vehicle
T5 SE 140 4Motion
Hi!
I am new to this, looking for a good quality (even if simple spec) custom made camper.
:?
Can anyone advise if a May 2012 registered Cali is likely to be a T4 or T5 or is that a silly question?
Is it a given that a custom made vehicle is classier than a conversion? That it is quieter and is less likely to fall apart?
Is 140bhp lively enough to enjoy the drive or is it sluggish? My car is a 2008 Volvo S80 and it is powerful - I wouldn't like to be driving a "slow" camper.

In anticipation, many thanks.
Mangan

Mangan said:
Hi!
I am new to this, looking for a good quality (even if simple spec) custom made camper.
:?
Can anyone advise if a May 2012 registered Cali is likely to be a T4 or T5 or is that a silly question?
Is it a given that a custom made vehicle is classier than a conversion? That it is quieter and is less likely to fall apart?
Is 140bhp lively enough to enjoy the drive or is it sluggish? My car is a 2008 Volvo S80 and it is powerful - I wouldn't like to be driving a "slow" camper.

In anticipation, many thanks.
Mangan

Hi Mangan,

Welcome to the forum.

A 2012 VW Transporter will be a T5 face lift version. The T5 launched in 2003 and is still current.

The 140 is OK but not as powerful as the 180bhp and you will need to be aware of this when pulling out into traffic if you don't want to get an angry toot. If that worries you then they can be remapped to improve power, turbo lag and fuel consumption. It is after all a van, so will not be anything like your Volvo.

They are good at eating up long runs, can cruise the motorway at 70mph all day. You sit high and the driving position is comfortable with arm rests.