Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

True Cost of using Sites

B

Barry Chuckle

VIP Member
Vehicle
Westy Sven Hedin
I appreciate this post may set hares racing but I’d be really interested to see what the general consensus is of the costs of camping today. I have touched on this subject in other threads but I’ve given some thought to the true cost of running a camper for several years. I’m relatively new to camping only getting into it in the last 4 years and I have to say I’m really bought into the experience. Therefore I’m coming at this issue as a convert to camping over other stays such as AirBnB’s or hotels.

Next weekend we're booked to stay at a campsite we like in West Yorkshire, it’s in pretty countryside and has a lake. I’d say it was pretty middle of the road, it has a toilet block of an average standard. It’s not basic but it’s not 5* camping in terms of facilities. We’ve booked a grass pitch without EHU at £28pn for 2 people it's essentially a space on a field & it's peak prices due to the summer holidays. I looked at other nearby campsites and they were pretty comparable in price, some CL a little lower at around £20pn but others with EHU are £10 to £15 more a night. For comparison I’ve looked at a nearby Travelodge for the same nights and that is priced at £29pn admittedly that in an undesirable location next to a motorway but others in better locations are £40pn.

So my point is a hotel (albeit pretty basic) can be had for a couple of pounds more per night. And whilst I don’t have any desire to stay in a soulless Alan Partridge type motel it seems to offer a lot more for the cost. For the camp site they have to provide a space in a field, and access to a shower and toilet block, bins and waste disposal. Whereas the hotel has to provide seemingly a lot more such as fresh laundry, electricity basic, aircon, toiletries & tea & coffee facilities etc.