Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

VW Dakar Alloys 18"

John

John

VIP Member
Original post rob

im considering buying dakar alloys 18" to replace my standard 16
" can anyone advise me what the difference will be between the 2 sets of wheels when im driving ? will the 2" change the handling ?
many thanks

Original post Calikev

Hi rob and welcome
I am no expert on wheels but I would say if you keep the same profile tyres you won't
Notice much difference in the ride it may alter your speedo reading a little.there must be someone on here that has them fitted so I'm sure they be able to help you more.

Original post grahamwise

I'm pretty sure that the recommended tyre for the 18" wheel is lower profile and wider. So in theory the roadholding should improve but the ride will suffer.

Original post dex14

Rob,

I have just fitted the 18" Sportline wheels with the VW lowering springs. The difference is great. The look is spot on but more importantly the ride has improved. Basically the springs have taken the bounce out of the ride. Some will say coilovers are better but for the price the lowering springs do a good job. Without the springs, I don't think it will actually make much difference to the ride but it will still look really good. Dakars are pricey but a really nice wheel.

Original post rob

thanks for help , would like to lower too but can only afford alloys or springs.....decisions

Original post smgcowfold

You may find the ride slightly stiffer than before as the tyres will be a lower profile. As the rolling radius should still be the same the speedo reading should be pretty much the same as well.

cheers

I have just been wondering about the diffences between 16", 17" and 18" alloys. The rolling radius all seems the same as the tyres get gradually lower in profile from 60' through 55 to 50.

Rolling radius is the same - the bigger the alloy, the lower profile the tyre.