Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

150 HP

Ive driven a 204 dsg to Spain and back and in normal driving you will not notice much difference - if you want to throw it round corners you will find the passengers in back get a bit queasy and the crockery doesnt last long - the 150 is a nicer drive in my view - plenty of go, not technically overstretched and pretty frugal - but it seems more people choose the higher output engine

150 for me - I think the higher output if you're 4 up, towing or using 4WD a lot...

Good afternoon,

1 1/2 years ago I got a demo model which was just on top of the price scale I could afford (barely).

This van came with a 150 HP which I had my reservations with. I thought that it wouldn't be sufficient for the 2,5 t of the Ocean.

But I was wrong, yes it is no race horse, but it is certainly good enough to "go with the flow". It is certainly better than I expected. Have I said that I have no experience with the 204 HP or the newer 199 HP engines.

Looking back would I go for the bigger engine - no (even not with 4 wheel drive). I believe it is a good engine not pushed too much to the technically limits.

I know there is more than high speed (e.g. overtaking, trailer) but I read a report that even in Germany there is a serious discussion going on for a - wait for it - Autobahn Speed Limit! According to the statistics that the majority of Germans would actually agree to it.

Regards,
Eberhard

The OP mentioned 180 not 204 so may be considering a T5 rather than a T6?

I have a 180 T5 (manual) but if buying a T5 again would be quite happy with a 150. As I recall, the torque difference between the two plants isn't that great.

One can never have too much BHP, that’s why I went for the 204. You don’t have to use it all, all of the time, but it’s there if you want to. Incidentally, my bike has 214.
More BHP, vicar? ;)