Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Absolute Newbie

luvgonzo

luvgonzo

Vehicle
Just browsing
So I decided I wanted a Cali, I've always wanted this type of vehicle but sometimes life (and kids) gets in the way. So I'm a little older now and would really love to get one.

So I want to really do my homework before making quite a big decision and thought this would be a good place to start.

The way I want to use the vehicle is to travel around the UK and Europe mixing up staying in the van with the occasional hotel stay. I imagine that staying in this type of vehicle for weeks on end isn't the best of ideas?

Bit of honesty now, I hate camping and don't like motor homes, so my family now think I'm barking mad. I just don't see the Cali as a motor home, it just seems easier and more relaxed.

It's the vehicle easy to use for a new person, is converting it to sleep mode easy, do I have to be a practical person to put the roof up and awning out? Am I making a big mistake?

If you hate camping and motorhomes @luvgonzo i’m not sure a Cali is for you? After all, on your trips you’ll either stay on campsites or you’ll wild camp - it’s camping! OK it’s not a tent and a Cali is easier to drive/park etc than a large motorhome but it’s designed for camping - it’s a campervan.
Why don’t you hire one for a few days and give it a try. That will give you a better idea of whether it’s for you.
Prepare to get hooked :)

So I decided I wanted a Cali, I've always wanted this type of vehicle but sometimes life (and kids) gets in the way. So I'm a little older now and would really love to get one.

So I want to really do my homework before making quite a big decision and thought this would be a good place to start.

The way I want to use the vehicle is to travel around the UK and Europe mixing up staying in the van with the occasional hotel stay. I imagine that staying in this type of vehicle for weeks on end isn't the best of ideas?