Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Bedding arrangements; gas bottle

stanthecalivan

stanthecalivan

Vehicle
T5 SE 140
Hi everyone,

I'm a new Cali owner (T5 140 SE), having just picked up my new pride and joy from the Leicester van centre this afternoon. That is, I'm new to Cali ownership, the van isn't new, but only six months old (it was their demonstrator).

Although I'm sure I'll have plenty more questions to ask once I get out and camp in the van, there are two questions I wanted to ask you all straight away - and that is to do with bedding and a gas bottle for the van.

1. What do you more experienced Cali users do for bedding?

- do you use sheets on the mattresses, and if so what type of sheets?
- do you take sleeping bags or duvets?
- where do you store the bedding in the van when you go away? of course, sleeping bags in stuff-bags aren't too difficult to store - but if you take a duvet, do you leave it loose on your luggage, or do you shut it into the upper roof space on top of the upper mattress with the roof closed (is that even possible?)

2. Where do you recommend I go to get a suitable gas bottle to put in the van, and what type of gas bottle do I need to get? Are they readily available?

Thanks in advance for your help,

Jerome

Gas , read this
http://vwcaliforniaclub.com/threads/camping-gas-bottle.4446/#post-39779
Or try searchfunction : campinggaz , ....
Bedding is a pesonal choice , we use sleepingbags
A sheet can be left on top of bed and close the roof , a sleepingbag or the most other things you best take downstairs before closing the roof .
There's the possibility of the roof beeing not fully closed caused by things left on top of the matrass

Last edited:
Congratulations on your new van Stan!

As Hotel says, bedding is a personal choice, we use a double duvet on top and put the mattress inside a single duvet cover (it fits OK). You can put the duvet in a stuff bag, but we just roll it up.