Complete novice on European drivig getaways wants to plan a trip

Ocean Spirit

Ocean Spirit

Eating Ice Cream, skimming stones.
Top Poster
VIP Member
Vehicle
T6 Ocean 150
As per title, we bought our Cali In December and have done a few UK trips and will do more as the year goes on getting properly acquainted with battery vs Hook up, Cooking, awning or not etc etc.

However next summer I want to do a relaxed trip in Europe and frankly don't have much of a clue.
I thought France because I like it (and try using the chunnel with out it :D),
Germany because I've had a brief glimpse and thought what I saw was nice and I'm curious,
Austria, Italy, Switzerland or at least one of as I have never done the Alps.

Initially I'd like to use the channel tunnel and in France, an Aire might do fine for single nights of which there will be at least a couple if I can find toilets. Is that likely to be difficult?

I want to make the pace quite leisurely. Some will be one night stop over and some will be 2 or 3 nights.
At the moment I figure an 18 day round trip with 7 or 8 locations would cater for that with an average of 2.75 hours driving per day except from the UK to the first stop in France which will be a longer drive overall.

Do those sums add up for those who have done something like this?
I don't know the best time of day to travel on the tunnel?
I know I'll have to sort a dog passport. Any tips?
Are toll roads expensive? Generally worth it?
Would I find Aires on those toll stretches?
Emissions sticker thingy?
Actual location ideas?

Thats it for now looking forward to your helpful replies.
:thanks

Last edited:
We did this loop in 3 weeks (and it included 5 days in one place to give the kids a break :) ) - we used the ferry, but took in most of the countries you want to see.

Google Map Link