Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Electric roof envy

cleve

cleve

VIP Member
Spent 2 hours with my parents today showing them round their SE which they only collected on Tuesday. Very excited for them. We love our beach and couldn't be without the extra space it provides but we do now have electric roof, interior table and folding headrest envy!

Great having two Cali's in the family, you will enjoy going out together :thumb

I'm with you on the folding headrest thing. VW if you are listening can you add these to the Beach pleeaassee!

As an SE owner I would gladly do away with my electric/hydraulic roof.
As a retired engineer I always believed in the 'kiss' principle.
I see no reason to over complicate something with an expensive to repair system.
There's nothing more simple than an easily operated manually raised roof, the majority of camper vans have them.

Having experienced the manual roof on our old Beach I can't wait to get the electro hydraulic version on the SE i've ordered, I'm 6'1 and not a small chap and I found the manual roof hard work.. even to get the clips undone! Plus the juggling act getting it down an holding it open a bit while trying to tuck the material in making sure it doesn't get caught. God knows how a shorter/weaker person would do it and hold it up, not to be sexist but my wife refused to touch it as she struggled so much. When I met a SE owner at a show and they just pressed the button and that was it, I was very envious!

Mind you a Caravan and horse would really take the "kiss" principal to the extreme.
My son Has a conversion, and both him and his wife agree that the manual lift roof is easy to go up and a right pain to get down, and they are both tall and very fit as they both do extreme sports. They have "electric roof envy" as well.

Would the Cali bungee solution not work as well on a manual roof to prevent trapping material?