Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Hook-Up Questions

P

Pensford

VIP Member
Hi

I am new to California scene and busy gathering information. We come from a camping background, so the Hook-Up facility is a new world to us. Please could you help with a couple of questions:

- I imagine that the 240v hook-up supply will charge the leisure batteries. Does everything then continue to run at 12v from the batteries?

- Does the hook-up actually provide 240v and it's associated power to any socket in the California?

I am sure there will be more questions, but this is what's on my mind at the moment.

Appreciate any additional advice. :grin:

Thanks

Phil

Hi phil welcome along. I will try and answer your questions for you
The Cali has 2 leisure batteries in the living area they operate the 12v cigarette lighter sockets
The lights,the aux heater ,fridge and the 12v inverter.there is also 1 3pin 240v socket that
Will work of hook up. When on hook up everything will still be 12v except the 3 pin socket
The 12v inverter will work without the hook up this will convert 12v dc to 240v ac. But only up to
A max of 150 watts. So ok for charging laptops or using low powered things. Not boiling kettles.
When the van is on hook up it will also charge the leisure batteries
I hope this helps and is not too confusing.

Calikev, Sorry to gate crash your discussion but just wanted to ask on a point in your reply. I know a bit about hook ups but also am new to Cali's. The 12 volt inverter socket that you refer to... What sort of plug does it take as when I tried to plug a standard cigarette socket into it whilst we were away recently I found that the plug was to big to fit into the smaller socket? Also does reverse polarity apply to the Cali when abroad as I know from previously being the owner of a folding camper that there was a light on the electric panel warning you to switch round the polarity if you plugged in the wrong way round?