Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Leisure battery questions please for 2013 Beach

Hobbit's Mum

Hobbit's Mum

Vehicle
T5 Beach
Hi, have just joined as hubby bought a 2013 Cali Beach last Thursday, though I found this forum about a week before & have already learned a lot!
So, from being a complete novice, I know that the Ocean has an external electrical hook up socket, but the Beach does not. However, it does have a leisure battery and various 12V sockets.

I have 2 questions about this.

Firstly: We want to buy a compressor fridge & charge phones & other electrical devices while we are away, but the manual says "using electric appliances with the engine switched off and the ignition switched on will drain the battery. Therefore only plug electrical consumers into the sockets when the engine is running".

I thought the point of a leisure battery was so you could use devices with the van stationary & engine switched off. I understand that it will drain with use, but isn't that what it's expected to do? Can we really only run electrics when the engine is running?

Secondly: I am thinking that we would only get maybe 24-30 hours use of a fridge unless we did connect to a hook up, and it seems we can buy a connector with an RCD & 3 x 3 pin plug sockets. How do people route the cable into your Cali?

Thanks in advance for any help.

Hi and welcome on your first post , beeing a SE owner (with 2 lesure bats. and hook-up ) i can not give experienced comment but i think that 24h full use (fridge and some things charging ) at least should work.
At a site you can always bring a 220v cable in the Cali.

There is already lots written and discussed in diffrent treads , try and read some electrical posts regarding battery-usage .

One can put afthermarket hook-up and inverter
Or a solarpanel , witch i belive is most popular and also info here on the forum.