Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

New Cali - first impressions

FlyingFred

FlyingFred

VIP Member
Vehicle
T5 SE 180 4Motion
Hi all,

I collected my new Cali from SMG Tonbridge on Tuesday and thought I would share a few first impressions with you to help those thinking of ordering one or waiting for one to be delivered
I am new to camping and campervans apart from some Scout camps as a helper, so some of this will be obvious to those experienced campers but I hope it’s worth saying anyway.
The vehicle is a new 2013 SE 180 DSG 4Motion Blue Motion.

The driving experience
The vehicle drives very nicely, is nice & quiet with plenty of power. The DSG box is lovely with 7 speeds. It rolls on corners a bit but no more than expected – it is a van after all. I’m going to see what it is like fully loaded before deciding whether to go for the lowered springs. The 4motion is very good – I have quite a steep sloping gravel drive that it has no trouble with. One slightly disconcerting thing is that 3 times now I have managed to knock the DSG selector out of DRIVE into NEUTRAL as I have moved my left hand up onto the steering wheel. The first time caused the engine to rev hard as I was accelerating and gave me a bit of a fright. I am used to it now but I surprising you don’t have to press the lock button to move to NEUTRAL.

The stop start feature on the DSG box works really well. If you pull up in DRIVE and stay with your foot on the brake, the engine stops. As soon as you take your foot off the brake, it restarts. There is no appreciable lag in pulling away .