Buy all your VW California Accessories at the Club Shop Visit Shop

Propane/Butane..other questions

D

DirkSquareJaw

VIP Member
Well Folks,

we got our Cali last Sat. Very excited and now reading manuals etc.

The manual states that only Butane (Gaz) 907 should be used.In direct opposition to this my father inlaw has insisted that we get Propane. Also,being an avid expedition type guy i have always used jet boils,wood fire and various other small expedition units. I therefore have no idea about the connection of this gas systems,how easy it is and wether its worth getting a camp store to fit it just for the first time.

Water tank fill and empty.
How easy is it to drain as we need to sterlize..looks fairly staight forward but would appreciate any advice from experienced owners. Pressume the waste tank just drains onto the floor?

Finally, are there any other bits of advice for a total noob...i want to do this right .Hook up and all that jazz - clueless. :help

Cheers

Dan

ps what other bits would you not do without. Topper,attached awning...etc

We caravan as well as use the Cali.
We always use propane with the caravan; once you start getting below +7 centigrade butane boil-off rates start dropping rapidly meaning before you get to zero centigrade you have no gas.
Propane continues to boil-off well below freezing.
I have never understood why VW use butane for a vehicle that gets used in consistently very low temperatures. The only benefit CampingGaz has is that it is readily available all over the continent.
I have a feeling that in Germany you can possibly get a cylinder similar in size to a 907 filled with propane.
Does anybody know?

There is a lever next to the gas bottle lid that you turn to drain the fresh water .I would charge your leisure batteries via the hookup one a month

I always used propane, high mountains, cold temperatures.