Retro fit solar?

andyinluton

andyinluton

Super Poster
VIP Member
Vehicle
T6.1 Ocean 204 4 motion
Anyone retro fitted a solar set up to a GC600? its the one thing missing from the van Im interested in.

First off, note that I have no experience other than reading through what others have said on the german sister forum. This is just to throw some ideas at you.

The real estate on the roof is surprisingly limited by the different vents and you won't be able to fit much more than a 100w or 2 x 60w panels unless you're willing to add smaller panels in a patch work layout. The open vents cast shade and lying flat on the roof you're not going to get the most out of any panel.

I'm fairly certain you won't be able to integrate any after market solution into the existing VW control panel.

You might consider a portable panel in addition to or instead of a roof panel.

You could quadruple your useable power by converting the leisure AGM to a larger LiFePO4 and forego solar.

What about carrying an Ecoflow or (better because LiFePO4) a Bluetti, also possible in combination with portable solar.

Keep in mind that your off-grid autonomy is also limited by your water and toilet tank capacity.

First off, note that I have no experience other than reading through what others have said on the german sister forum. This is just to throw some ideas at you.

The real estate on the roof is surprisingly limited by the different vents and you won't be able to fit much more than a 100w or 2 x 60w panels unless you're willing to add smaller panels in a patch work layout. The open vents cast shade and lying flat on the roof you're not going to get the most out of any panel.

I'm fairly certain you won't be able to integrate any after market solution into the existing VW control panel.

You might consider a portable panel in addition to or instead of a roof panel.

You could quadruple your useable power by converting the leisure AGM to a larger LiFePO4 and forego solar.